Australian Mandatory reporting for service agents and technicians

Link to full article:

Mandatory reporting for service agents and technicians – Supplier bulletin.

“Suppliers of consumer goods and related services, including service agents and technicians, are required to report serious injury, illness or death associated with consumer goods. This requirement is known as ‘mandatory reporting’.” …

“Serious illness or injury means an acute physical injury or illness requiring medical or surgical treatment by, or under the supervision of, a qualified doctor or nurse.”

Product safety in Australia – fact sheet

See the following Fact sheet for details:

Product safety in Australia – fact sheet.

“Under the Australian Consumer Law (ACL), which took effect on 1 January 2011, Australia now has a national product safety system.

The Australian Government is able to:
•    issue safety warning notices
•    ban products, either temporarily or permanently
•    impose mandatory safety standards
•    issue compulsory recall notices, requiring businesses to recall a product
•    impose information standards, requiring that certain information about a product be provided to consumers before or at the time of purchase.
The national product safety system covers consumer goods, which are intended to be or are likely to be for personal, domestic or household use. It also covers product-related services including the installation, maintenance, repair, cleaning, assembly or delivery of consumer goods.
It’s important to note that suppliers are responsible for ensuring the safety of their products.”


ERAC – EESS Web Site Now Available


ERAC has now published some material about the EESS (electrical equipment safety system) on their Web site. You can see their official information at 

(when you get to that link, click on the EESS Tab at the top of the page to get to the EESS page, then click on the + sign at the left for full navigation)

… Please note that some parts of the site are still under development, and will be edited and/or added to in time.

ACMA: C-Tick and A-Tick marks to be phased out for RCM, from 1 July 2012

Official ACMA Web page:

  • The current arrangements apply until 1 July 2012,
  • The new arrangements apply to new suppliers, not already on the ACMA supplier database, from 1 July 2012,
  • From 1 July 2015, the arrangements will apply to all suppliers

Australia’s Electrical Equipment Safety System (EESS), and RCM for March 2013 (revision 6b)

Australian and New Zealand electrical safety regulators have combined to produce a unified product safety compliance system for electrical equipment. The attached paper describes the new system in some detail, from an ICT equipment supplier’s perspective. This is based on a range of source material which may be subject to change. It also covers application of the regulatory compliance mark (RCM) under the telecommunications, radiocommunications and EMC regulatory frameworks.



2012-07-04 Revision 6 Update

  • Incorporates new start date of 1 March 2013
  • Incorporates formal publication of the new RCM standards AS/NZS 4417.1 & .2 :2012
  • Added a new section 3, discussion on how to use the RCM prior to new start date.
  • Sundry consequential edits.
  • Revision 6a: minor edits.
  • Revision 6b: corrections to Section 3 based on new expert feedback.

2012-03-08 revision 5 update:

  • Added registration fee details, and mention of authorised representatives (in 1.3)
  • Added term of certificates and certification bodies placing on the database (in 1.4.3).
  • Added some details about certification bodies and test lab qualifications and requirements (in 1.5).
  • Added section on audits and enforcement (1.10).
  • Added RCM discussion on NZ EMC & radiocommunications (2.3).
  • Added Document Control section (4).
  • General reformatting, editorials & clause renumbering throughout.

2012-03-05 Update: Version 4 includes new details of ACMA’s adoption of the RCM into their regulations.

%d bloggers like this: